Words of Love for Moms ~ Happy Mother’s Day!

Everyday I get to work with amazing women.  Women of endless strength, patience, courage, passion, belief and love.  To a few, they are called Mother, Mum, Mom, or Mommy. I am blessed to call them my friends!  When another friend, mother and RPMing Head of School of the Hirsch Academy, Shelley Carnes, sent me her fabulous lesson on Mother’s Day, I asked if I could use it with my kids.  She graciously agreed and the creative writing responses the kids gave had me weeping during sessions. The lesson focuses on the history of Mother’s Day, started by Anna Jarvis and signed on as National Holiday in 1914 by President Woodrow Wilson.  I cannot think of a better way to celebrate Mother’s Day than to share their words with you!

The lesson ends with this creative writing prompt: Anna Jarvis created Mother’s Day to celebrate her beloved mother and all mothers.  She said defined mothers as “the person who has done more for you than anyone in the world”, what are your thoughts on this statement?

MY MOTHER IS THE MOST AMAZING PERSON I KNOW.  SHE BELIEVES IN ME AND SOPHIA. YES, I KNOW I AM LUCKY TO HAVE HER AS MY MOM.  SHE WILL USUALLY UNDERSTAND WHY I AM SO VERY STIMMY AND TOLERATE MY QUIRKS.  WHO IN THIS WORLD WOULD LOVE ME THIS MUCH?  THE VERY MOST THING I WANT TO SAY IS PLEASE KNOW HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU, MOM!  SAVE SOME PLAY TIME FOR YOURSELF.  YOU DO SO MUCH FOR US. LOVE, MATTHEW. ~Matthew

Matthew

Matthew

MY MOTHER IS MY BEST FRIEND.  NO ONE REALLY GETS ME LIKE SHE DOES.  MY MOM IS REALLY SO FUNNY.  THAT IS WHERE I GET MY SENSE OF HUMOR.  MY MOM HAS MADE MY LIFE SO VERY NICE.  I LOVE MY MOM SO MUCH! ~Davis

photo

I THINK THIS MAKES SENSE.  MY MOM IS THE  BEST PERSON I KNOW.  SHE NEVER GIVES UP ON ME.  I NEED HER SHE IS THERE.  ONLY SHE COULD LOVE ME THIS MUCH.  NO ONE IS MORE SPECIAL TO ME. ~Tom

Tom

Tom

MY ALWAYS HAPPY MOM PLAYS WITH ME. I REALLY LOVE HER SO MUCH. MY MOM IS THE QUEEN, SO SPECIAL TO ME.  ~TJ

JT

JT

TO BIRTH A CHILD IS THE MOST PAINFUL EXPERIENCE, AND YOUR MOTHER DID IT FOR YOU. IF THAT DIDN’T STOP HER FROM LOVING YOU MORE THAN ANYONE, I DON’T KNOW WHAT WILL.  MY MOM HAD ME, LOVED ME, FOUND I HAD AUTISM, AND IF IT WERE POSSIBLE, SHE LOVED ME EVEN MORE.  ~Huan

Huan

Huan

MY MOM IS THE MOST DEVOTED MOM IN THE WORLD.  I LOVE HER SO MUCH.  I DON’T HAVE ENOUGH WORDS TO TELL HOW SUPER SHE IS TO ME.  MY MOM IS THE BEST I KNOW.    ~Calvin

Calvin

Calvin

ANNA MADE US THINK ABOUT OUR MOTHERS. LIFE WOULD BE A VERY LIMITED STORY WITHOUT MY MOTHER’S INSISTENCE THAT I WILL HAVE A GREAT, MEANINGFUL LIFE.  FIRST, I HAVE TO SAY I LOVE MY MOTHER.  SECOND, I AM SO GRATEFUL I HAVE HER AS MY CHAMPION. THIRD, SHE IS MY HERO. SHE HAS MADE MY LIFE WORTH LIVING. ~ Ryan

Ryan

Ryan

MOTHERS BASICALLY ARE GOD’S ANGELS.  THEY GO TO ANY LENGTH TO TAKE CARE OF THEIR KIDS.  MY MOM IS MY BEST FRIEND.  SHE IS THE MOST KIND AND GIVING PERSON I HAVE EVER MET.  MY MOM BELIEVES IN ME.  SHE HAS NEVER TREATED ME LIKE I AM LESS THAN HER IDEAL DAUGHTER.  SOMEONE ELSE WOULD HAVE RUN OUT A PATIENCE LONG AGO.  NO ONE ELSE IN THIS WORLD MEANS AS MUCH TO ME.  MY MOM IS MY SONG AND MY LIGHT.  I LOVE HER SO MUCH.  ~Emma

Emma

Emma

Happy Mother’s Day! Know that you are loved and appreciated for all that you do! ~Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

