Autism Acceptance Month – Matthew’s Thoughts on Neurodiversity!

Today’s blog for Autism Acceptance Month comes from Matthew!  Matthew is one of the happiest guys I know.  He is always singing a song, smiling and wrapping me up in hugs. I have to confess, Matthew has me wrapped around his little finger! One of the things I love about working with Matthew is his incredible insight and views upon the world.  I never know what he is going with RPMing, but it is always somewhere magnificent!  Here are Matthew’s responses to an article on neurodiversity. If you are unfamiliar with the term neurodiversity, Matthew presents on of the best explanations I have ever heard!

Matthew has been RPMing for a little less than a year and is quite fluent. Since he has strong RPM skills, in this lesson, instead of asking questions, I presented the article a few paragraphs at a time for Matthew to synthesize and summarize the information and add in his opinions.

Matthew

Matthew

NEURODIVERSITY SUGGESTS THAT HUMANS MAY HAVE SOME DIFFERENCES IN THE WAY WE ARE WIRED AND MAY FIND THOSE DIFFERENCES ARE NOT A DISORDER BUT JUST FINE.  MY AUTISM IS A LIFELONG CORPORATION OF WHICH I AM THE CEO.  SO SAYING MY LIFELONG CORPORATION NEEDS TO CHANGE OR WORSE SEEMS LIKE AN INSULT.

THOSE OF US AT EDGES OF THE BELL CURVE ARE NOT REALLY SO DIFFERENT.  WE HAVE THE SAME THOUGHTS EMOTIONS AS OTHERS ONLY WE ASK YOU TO UNDERSTAND OUR OTHER DIFFERENCES.  AND THIS IS WHAT ACCEPTANCE MEANS TO ME. 

SOME SUGGEST THAT I AND OTHERS LIKE ME ARE DEFECTIVE.  I SEE IT DIFFERENTLY.  ONLY I CAN LIVE MY LIFE.  NO ONE SHOULD BE ABLE TO TELL ME THAT MY MIND IS NOT NORMAL OR GOOD ENOUGH FOR THEM.  I AM FINDING MYSELF IN COMPLETE AGREEMENT WITH THE NEURODIVERSITY SCHOOL OF THOUGHT.

Your body has been pretty busy lately, do you have any thoughts on this?
YES, I AM I MOTOR HYPER GALACTIC TRAIN SPEED. STAY WITH ME THROUGH THE SPEED TRAIN.

Matthew, I will happily accompany you on that speed train ride! You have a beautiful mind and I am so honored to have you in my life!  Thank you for your words of wisdom.

~Elizabeth and Matthew

Leave a Reply

