Back to School Countdown! 2….Emma

Emma is ready for school and counting down 2 more days to go! Emma and I have worked together for 10 years. She and I laugh and learn from each other. Our sessions are loud! Over the summer, Emma’s fluency on the boards has improved significantly and I enjoy her insightful observations. I often wonder who is really teaching whom in our arrangement!

Emma celebrates her last few days of summer at hockey camp!

Emma celebrates her last few days of summer at hockey camp!

Back to School
Today we are going to talk about education!

Spell Education.  EDUCATION

What do you think of when you hear the word education?  SCHOOL

Tell me one thing you expect see at schools.  STUDENTS

Give me a word that goes with Hight School.  MESSY ROOMS

Let’s discuss some famous quotes about education. Listen to the quote and tell me what you think it means. (see all the quotes in this lesson here)

“You are always a student, never a master. You have to keep moving forward.”
~Conrad Hall (American cinematographer)
YOU MUST NEVER QUIT LEARNING BECAUSE THERE IS MORE TO KNOW.

“Education is not preparation for life, education is life itself.” ~John Dewey
MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR EDUCATION. THERE IS SO MUCH TO LEARN FROM EVERY PERSON YOU MEET.

“Education is the key to unlock the golden door of freedom.”~ George Washington Carver
THE TRUTH WILL ALWAYS LEAD YOU TO FREEDOM. THE KEY IS TO KNOW THE TRUTH.

Creative Writing: Write a letter to your teachers. Tell them about yourself. How do you learn best? What do you expect out of school this year? What can be expected from you?

DEAR TEACHERS,
I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO MEETING YOU.  I AM REALLY SMART.  YOU SHOULD TRY TO CHALLENGE ME BECAUSE I DON’T WANT TO WASTE MY EDUCATION.  I LIKE TO LEARN EVERYTHING THAT I CAN.  I DO NOT LIKE BEING TREATED LIKE A BABY.  I WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE I AM SMART AND CAPABLE OF LEARNING.  PLEASE RESPECT ME AND I WILL RESPECT YOU.
LOVE,
EMMA

I think my favorite quote is, “The truth will always lead you to freedom. The key is to know the truth.” Wise words Emma! I am looking forward to seeing all that you will learn this year! ~Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

