Back to School Countdown! 3….Matthew

Meet Matthew! Matthew is a RPM newbie who picked up communication on the letter board quickly. (Remember, each person brings their own assets and challenges to the table when learning anything new….for some learning RPM is a quick process, for others it is a slow and steady process. The key is to meet your learner where they are!). Matthew is bright, inquisitive, has a definite sense of humor and perfect pitch! I have found that I often have one of the tunes that Matthew sang or hummed during our sessions stuck in my head. One little ditty stayed with me so long that by the end of the day, I was so hooked I had to download the song! Not all kids who use RPM are nonspeaking. Matthew has great speech and is able to be communicative through a mix of scripted and unscripted speech. When Matthew gets on the letter boards, he is able to access much richer, much more fluent, novel language. (Keep in mind, speech and language are two very different skills. I will talk more about that in an upcoming blog. Stay tuned!)

Matthew completed this lesson on education on his 6th session. His mom and I discussed the fact that this lesson is relatively complex requiring open-ended responses, which Matthew had just started to use in previous lessons. We agreed to raise the bar and see how Matthew would do (I could always modify the lesson as we went along if needed). Well….clearly, Matthew saw that bar, LEAPED over it and issued a challenge of his own! Once again, my clients show that they are willing and ready for educational challenges. Every day I am further convinced that my challenge to keep up with my eager learners!

photo (1)

Matthew advises, “Books can educate us and so can people. Read and listen.”

Back to School
Today we are going to talk about education!

Spell Education   EDUCATION

What do you think of when you hear the word education?  STUDENTS

Tell me one thing you expect see at school.  SCHEDULE

Give me a word that goes with your school?  ARTS AND CRAFTS

What do you think the following quotes mean? (Click here for the complete lesson)

“You are always a student, never a master. You have to keep moving forward.” ~Conrad Hall (American cinematographer)
MUST MOVE FORWARD IN SCHOOL AND LIFE.

 “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”
~ Nelson Mandela
CHANGE THE WORLD BY EDUCATION OF ALL PEOPLE OF ALL TYPES.

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” ~Aristotle
INSIDE SCHOOL THE SCHOOL IS EMPTY. LEARNING CAN HAPPEN AND LISTENING CAN BE EDUCATIONAL.

“The older I grow, the more I am convinced that there is no education one can get from books and costly apparatus that is equal to that which can be gotten from contact with great men and women.” ~ Booker T. Washington
BOOKS CAN EDUCATE US AND SO CAN PEOPLE.  READ AND LISTEN.

Creative Writing: Write a letter to your teachers. Tell them about yourself. How do you learn best? What do you expect out of school this year? What can they expect of you?

DEAR MR. ________, [name deleted]
I AM REALLY HAPPY TO BE COMING TO SCHOOL AGAIN THIS YEAR.  I LIKE SCIENCE AND SOCIAL STUDIES.  IF THE PRINCIPAL AGREES AND THE STUDENTS WILL PARTICIPATE AND THE PARENTS WILL ALLOW IT  I HOPE YOU ARE WILLING TO BE REBELLIOUS AND REALLY TEACH US THIS YEAR. THINK ABOUT WILLINGNESS TO EDUCATE.
LOVE,
MATTHEW

Matthew, I hope that principals, students, parents and teachers everywhere will accept your invitation to be rebellious and presume competence! What if everyone just shifted their thinking a tiny bit and thought, “I bet they CAN” instead of, “I am sure they can’t”. Go ahead! Be “rebellious…think about willingness to educate”! Matthew and I are rooting for you! ~Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

