Back to School Countdown! 4….Ethan

Ethan is another one of my kids who is facing a big change this year. He is entering Middle School (gulp), which can certainly be a tricky time for any kid! Actually, since Ethan is in Maryland, he is already back in school because they start the week before Labor Day. Once again, Ethan is a step ahead of us! Ethan will be included (with support and allowed to respond by typing on his iPad) in some general education classes! WooHoo! This is fantastic step forward and opportunity for Ethan to really learn and SHINE!

Last days at the beach before Ethan jumps back into school!

Last days at the beach before Ethan jumps back into school!

Back to School
Spell Education.  EDUCATION

What do you think of when you hear the word education?  LEARNING

Tell me one thing you expect see at schools.  STUDENTS

Give me a word that goes with Middle School.  FOR BIG KIDS

Let’s talk about some quotes about education. Listen to the quote and tell me what you think it means. (You can find the entire lesson here).

“You are always a student, never a master. You have to keep moving forward.”
~ Conrad Hall
FIRST YOU HAVE TO LEARN THEN YOU HAVE TO KEEP LEARNING.

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” ~ Aristotle
YOU DON’T HAVE TO BELIEVE EVERYTHING YOU LEARN.

“Education is the key to unlock the golden door of freedom.”  ~George Washington Carver
EDUCATION IS THE SOLUTION TO UNLOCKING THE JAIL OF IGNORANCE.

Creative Writing: Write a letter to your new teachers.  Tell them about yourself.  How do you learn best. What do you expect out of school this year. What can they expect of you.

DEAR MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS,
MY NAME IS ETHAN.  I AM TWELVE YEARS OLD.  I AM EXCITED ABOUT MIDDLE SCHOOL. NOW I AM READY TO BE CHALLENGED.  MY EDUCATION IS IMPORTANT TO ME.  I WANT TO BE TAUGHT LIKE I AM SMART NOT LIKE I AM MENTALLY RETARDED. PLEASE DO NOT THINK THAT JUST BECAUSE I CANNOT TALK WELL THAT I CANNOT LEARN WELL.  I AM VERY SMART BUT MY BODY IS STUPID.  IT DOES NOT DO WHAT MY BRAIN TELLS IT TO DO.  THAT IS WHY SOMETIMES I MAKE NOISES OR ACT RIDICULOUS.  JUST IGNORE MY BODY AND TALK TO MY BRAIN.  I AM LISTENING ALL THE TIME ONLY IT DOES NOT LOOK LIKE IT.   I AM LOTS OF FUN GIVE ME A CHANCE TO SHOW YOU.
SINCERELY,
ETHAN

Ethan, you have all the tools for success in Middle School this year; a supportive school, an encouraging family, a great brain, a means to communicate, and an incredible desire to learn! The sky is the limit!  ~Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

