Back to School Countdown! 6…. Luke

Luke joins us today to count down another day until school starts. Luke (8 years old) will be attending a new school this year and is understandably nervous but optimistic about meeting his new teacher and classmates. Luke has become quite adept on the boards since beginning his RPM journey in April 2014 and is quite eager to learn. All of us are hopeful that Luke’s new school will be open to challenging his hungry brain!

Luke will be going back to school looking sharp! He used RPM to pick out some duds!

Luke will be going back to school looking sharp! He used RPM to pick out some duds!

Back to School
Today we are going to talk about education!

Spell Education.   EDUCATION

What do you think of when you hear the word education?  SCHOOL

Tell me one thing you expect to see at schools.  STUDENTS

Give me a word that tells how you feel about your new school.  NERVOUS

Let’s discuss some famous quotes about education. Listen to the quote and tell me what you think it means.  (click here for the complete lesson)

“You are always a student, never a master. You have to keep moving forward.”
~Conrad Hall (American cinematographer)
DONT STOP LEARNING EVEN WHEN YOU ARE OLD AND OUT OF SCHOOL

“Education is not preparation for life, education is life itself.” ~John Dewey
ONCE YOU ARE EDUCATED LIFE IS NOT THE SAME BECAUSE NOW YOU ARE REALLY PREPARED FOR ANYTHING.

Creative Writing: Write a letter to your teachers. Tell them about yourself. How do you learn best? What do you expect out of school this year?  What can they expect of you?

DEAR TEACHERS,
I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO MEETING YOU SOON.  MY HOPE IS THAT YOU WILL TRUST THAT I AM SMART EVEN THOUGH I MAY NOT SEEM LIKE IT FROM THE OUTSIDE.  I ONLY WANT A CHANCE TO SHOW THAT I CAN LEARN.
FROM,
LUKE

I know that given a chance, Luke is bound to impress everyone he meets in his new school! Go Luke, we are all so proud of you! ~Elizabeth

6 thoughts on “Back to School Countdown! 6…. Luke

  1. Hey! Where’s the link? “Let’s discuss some famous quotes about education. Listen to the quote and tell me what you think it means. (click here for the complete lesson)” <—- no link?

    "…even when you are old and out of school." Look here, kid… 😉

    "ONCE YOU ARE EDUCATED…" Hey Luke, there should be no such thing! There is something to be said for taking advantage of the freedom you have (no kids, no mortgage, no job, …) while you're still (ahem!) "young" to become as educated as you can. I believe what Mr. Dewey was saying, though, is that you should choose to live your entire life as a process of becoming more and more educated. You can choose whether to live life well – by always seeking more knowledge and understanding – or to miss out on those opportunities by not always being on the lookout for them.

    You never really know what's coming at you in life, so you want to be prepared for as much as you can, and that means always striving to become better and better prepared as long as you live!

    I have little doubt that you and the other people about whom Elizabeth writes will be life-long learners. You've pretty much perfected that art already, don't you think?!

    • Dan, thank you for your comments and pointing out the missing link (haha! I found the missing link and put it in its rightful spot!). When Luke was spelling out, “…even when you are old….” I was afraid that sentence was going to end with “like Miss Elizabeth!”. LOL! Out of the mouth of babes, right?!

      I agree with Mr. Dewey, you and Luke that it is the ongoing process of learning is what makes life so amazing worth waking up for each day! Right now, my chief educators are my clients. They are not only teaching me about autism but about determination, perseverance, hope and forgiveness!

      Time and time again, my kids surprise me by mentioning things that I am shocked that they know about (just last week in a lesson on public goods and services one of my kids wrote about the stock market – expressing ideas that are way beyond my understanding of investments!). When I ask (and I do…..over and over) how the kids know all of these things, the answer is always some variation of “I LISTEN”. Hmmmm….how about that! Learning by listening! What a novel concept that we “talkers” would do well to embrace! ~Elizabeth

  2. What an awesome dude! His creative writing gave me goosebumps. So proud of him and all he has and will accomplish. So grateful that he has you to help him express all of his wonderful, perceptive thoughts.

    • Thank you Emily! Our guy is shining bright! Luke is a constant joy and everyday gets more fluent on the boards and has so much to say! I know he misses you! Perhaps you can do a lesson on Africa so he can learn from your adventures! ~Elizabeth

  3. Luke looks so happy in this photo. We are so pleased that is is making such wonderful progress. A BIG thanks to all of his teachers and mentors. Barbara, in St. Louis.

Leave a Reply

